Day 9: Dinner : Honey BBQ Meatloaf

03-19-17Sunday Funday.

I don’t typically cook Sunday nights because we usually eat only twice on Sundays, late breakfast, late lunch. But today was different and I have been more cognizant of cooking our own dinners. So what’s better on a Sunday than some comfort food..meatloaf.

My mom shared her recipe with me last year and there is no better meatloaf in the world but I came across this recipe and had to try it.

Here it is:

http://www.andiemitchell.com/honey-barbecue-meatloaf/
~

Very easy to make and looked just like moms. But I made the sauce to drizzle on top and oh man did it come out juicy. Nice and moist and delicious.

The meatloaf was definitely the star of dinner tonight but I do want to mention the potatoes. Yeah yeah we had them again, we ran out of soy sauce so I’ve been making less rice and noodles. Plus what goes better with meatloaf than mashed?!

I had little birdy Michael in my head as I was choosing the veggies for this dish- he always has to have a veggie at every meal, which is great rule to live by, so as I chose the peas, I knew that wasn’t going to cut it.

So what did I do?! We food shopped tonight and I got this bright beautiful bag of rainbow carrots. Mikes mom had made mashed with zucchini  AND potatoes before and I recently had this carrot puree at my favorite restaurant Tempo. So that was my inspiration for this combo.

I cooked the carrots (yellow, orange and red) with the potatoes. Added milk and butter and a dash each of onion powder and garlic powder and yummy yummy in my tummy. So good. I was super happy with this. AND I can’t wait to see how it photographs because it was really pretty too!

So there you have it, the story behind this dish. Comfort food at its best!

=]

Leave a comment