Adventure #46: Summer Squash Pie

I don’t know why but this is the ugliest and longest hyperlink ever:

https://books.google.com/books?id=41FM3gmERrMC&pg=PA120&lpg=PA120&dq=Trisha+Yearwood%27s+Squash+Casserole+recipe&source=bl&ots=_PMc1LDcXI&sig=MfMGFffnrkrwA7CJ2VhXB1LNhj8&hl=en&sa=X&ei=3MzCUuyrEYTZkQeS-YDQCA#v=onepage&q=Trisha%20Yearwood’s%20Squash%20Casserole%20recipe&f=false
My girl Trisha Yearwood!

I love watching her show on food network. I came about this recipe when I was looking for things to do with summer squash.

We came home from a pretty intense night of drinking and crashing at our friends place. We had a delish brunch and then had to stop at the super market on the way home for some basics. I grabbed a rotisserie chicken and for some reason summer squash and zucchini called to me. I needed some sort of fresh produce and it looked good. I had no idea what I was going to do with it.

Enter Pinterest.

I love Pinterest as you well know by now. There would be no Bizzy in the kitchen without it. I mean I’d actually have to buy a cook book! Ha!

Anyway, I came across this dish and saw it was trisha’s and had to try it.

I messed it up. I only had about 1 lb with the zucchini and summer squash combined. I think something with the water content of the vegetable messed this up. Oh yeah and probs the fact that I used daiya dairy free cheese. So many things seemed to go wrong with this dish. I wasn’t a big fan but I did save the leftovers and we’ll eat them next week.

I don’t think it cooked long enough the first time. I was expecting it to be thicker. So after I ate it I did throw it back in the oven. So we shall see if next time we eat it I like it better.

The idea of this dish was great but if I ever make it again, definitely using only summer squash and real cheese. Yeah yeah theres no way I’ll ever give up cheese. Who am kidding!?!?
xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

