Adventure #30: Smothered Asiago Chicken with Spinach and Mushrooms

Recipe #30!? Say what?! 
A bit of a bummer though because I honestly wasn’t thrilled with this one.

Here it is:

https://www.melissassouthernstylekitchen.com/smothered-asiago-chicken-with-spinach-and-mushrooms/
So I started this blog to just record my thought process of cooking. With that comes recipes that I’m bound to mess up and mistakes and happy accidents and glorious sucesses. I have been out of it for a few weeks now. Life has been busy and I haven’t been making time to cook.

Well I’m back and this is recipe 1 of 4 that have planned this week. I haven’t food shopped for them yet but I have the list all together. I was in a car accident last week and the amount of work and time that goes into settling a claim is ridiculous. Needless to say, this has led to stress, poor eating choices and lack of cooking my own food.

Back to the recipe though. I don’t really know how I feel about mushrooms but the pic looked mouth watering so I gave it a whirl. I also have a music festival coming up in a few weeks and would like to lose a few pounds to fit into some bathing suits and short shorts ha! So back to cooking my own food.

This had a good amount of vegetables in it and I served it with rice.

I baked the chicken fully first and then added the topping and melted the cheese. I get nervous as I have mentioned before about pan searing meat. I don’t like to run the risk of uncooked chicken.

I covered the chicken in tin foil because that’s how Michael does it and it really holds in moisture so you don’t get dry chicken.

When I sauteed the veggies I used frozen and I think the amount of water that came out really disturbed this dish. The chicken was great but I really wasn’t a huge fan of the vegetables. Meh. Bummer.

Anyway, at least I gave it a shot.

Here’s to hoping the next recipe works out better.

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

