Adventure #27: Creamy Mozzarella Shrimp Pasta

IMG_5400Oops I did it again…

Cheese. Oh cheese. This recipe was a last minute decision. I was on Pinterest one morning and came across this pin even after I had prepped and shopped and I caved. I had to have it.

Here it is:

http://juliasalbum.com/2017/04/creamy-mozzarella-shrimp-pasta/
So I told you I had already shopped and planned out some meals for the week but when I saw this I had to check and see if I had the ingredients to make it. I made A LOT of swaps in this dish and it paid off. This sauce is insane. Delicious.

I didn’t have half and half so I used just milk.

I had fire roasted peppers in the house and a can of fire roasted tomatoes so I did half of each.

I was going to use Thai red rice pasta because that was all we had in the house but last minute I saw the gnocchi and decided to go with that.

We also didn’t have mozzarella so I used Parmesan.

Moral of the story. I can’t call this mozzarella pasta. It’s creamy Parmesan shrimp gnocchi.

And it was good.

It was fun to eat too. Grab a shrimp, grab a gnocc. Mm mm good.

There was good heat in the sauce too. The fire roasted veggies plus the crushed red pepper really amped up this sauce. It was well balanced by the milk and cheese.

My favorite way to eat gnocchi is with a vodka type sauce. Creamy tomato-ey goodness. This sauce was everything and is quite possibly my new favorite sauce to eat with gnocchi.

I’ve experimented with crushed tomatoes and heavy cream before to make a pink sauce and they were always lacking. I really can’t say enough about this sauce. It was creamy, not watery. Cheesy but not over the top and had tons of spice and flavor. It was like Goldie locks, just right…

Highly recommend this dish for a quick easy Italian meal.

👍👏👌

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

