Adventure #26: Coconut Curry Stir Fry Noodles with Glazed Tofu

Recipe:
http://healthynibblesandbits.com/coconut-curry-stir-fry-noodles-glazed-tofu/

A few firsts for me in this dish.

Tofu and lemongrass.

Overall I would honestly say this dish was okay.

I had fun working with the tofu. I love to cut things that cooperate and extra firm tofu definitely cooperates.

It got a nice ooey gooey consistency to it but I had to cook it a little longer than the recipe suggested.

The rice noodles, which I’ve worked with before came out pretty al dante. This recipe said to boil water and then shut off the heat and let the noodles soak for 5 minutes. It definitely needs longer than that!

The lemongrass- first of all I had a hard time finding this in the store. It came in a jar and it looks like little spirals. It doesn’t smell great and I really didn’t notice much flavor in the dish from it.

A positive though and a take away for me is the curry sauce. Cocnout milk and Thai red curry paste. This is the stuff dreams are made of. I have this dish I get from a Thai place where I used to live and this sauce took me right to that dish. The creamy spicy deliciousness- so good. It was missing something though. I’m not sure yet what it was but it was still really good and gave this dish most of it’s flavor.

When I combined all the ingredients together, the tongs came in handy. I picked up the noodles and sort of dragged them across the bottom of the pan and then used a wooden spoon to toss.

Again, this dish was just okay. Not my favorite and I don’t kow if I’ll make it again. The positives though were the tofu and the coconut curry sauce.

Hey, you win some you lose some.

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

