Adventure #25: Browned Butter Shrimp and Rice Bowls with Sauteed Kale and Avocado


yummdity yum yum yum yum yum!!! 

This.was.everything.

Here it is:

http://www.floatingkitchen.net/browned-butter-shrimp-and-rice-bowls-with-sauteed-kale-and-avocado/

Here we go again with the go tos: coconut rice, seafood (at least it wasn’t salmon this time) and avocado. And then there’s butter! Yes, butter butter butter butter.

I still can’t get over how good this was. And I have to say I was really happy and excited while I was making this dinner tonight, I just came home from a kick ass yoga class and was snacking on some chocolate and making this yummy dish. Really though, everyone should do yoga and then snack on chocolate while making dinner. I don’t know why I’m focusing on that but I really enjoyed it. 

Like most of the recipes I cook this was fairly simple. Boiling rice and sautee-ing kale.

I nailed this coconut rice. And when I say that I mean I freaking nailed it. Best job I’ve ever done cooking rice. And here’s my tips (yes Alex you know this is for you 😜)

1. The timing is everything. 

2. Simmering is key. Finding that sweet spot between a boil and a simmer and letting the rice cook in that space.

3. Patience. Nothing worth having ever comes easy/quickly.

4. The fork. I repeat, the fork. Once you’ve cooked the rice and then shut the heat off and let it mellow out, gently forking it( my way of saying fluffing with a fork) makes all the difference. In this recope in particular I added lime zest during the forking phase. And the liquid consisted of EVOO with the water and coconut milk. Hands down the beat recipe for coconut rice to date!

I used baby shrimp so those were easy to cook but I wish I followed the direction of patting them dry. They were frozen so when I put them in the skillet with the butter the water combined with the butter to make a broth and I basically boiled the shrimp versus “browning” them. I had the expectation that it would be sort of charred with the nice browned butter flavor. So I did not nail that part of the recipe.

And finally, the veggies. Can’t go wrong with kale sauteed in butter with salt, pepper and crushed red. 

And I learned something new when working with the avocados. I peeled them with a potatoe peeler and then cut around the pit. Unfortunately these were really raw avocados and they peeled nicely but the pit was odd. It was almost like the skin of an onion and very tender. So it was hard to cut around it when I got close to it. So after peeling the skin I really only got 5 good chunks from each avocado. And the flavor was off because it was so raw.

I know you won’t be surprised by this but the star of this dish was that magical mystical( literally sparkling) coconut rice. I swear it really does sparkle. I think it’s the coconut milk or maybe it was the EVOO. But I noticed the sparkle when Mike made it with the Mongolion Beef and then again tonight with this dish. It literally is magical coconut rice!

🍚 🍚🍚🍚🍚

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

