Adventure #18: Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Crema

04-10-17As I was going through Pinterest  planning meals for this week, I came across a pin I had saved a while ago, “19 30-minute healthy recipes”

Challenge accepted.

Recipe #1

http://www.joyfulhealthyeats.com/grilled-mahi-mahi-fish-tacos-with-chipotle-lime-crema/

“Patience is a virtue “, no, “patience is peeling an unripe avocado”

We did our food shopping tonight, on this gorgeous, warm, sunny ,what feels like Summer, Spring day.

Pro about weekday food shopping- it was empty at TJ’s.

Con- unripe avocado. I swear it was squishy when I picked it out, but ya never know until you cut into it.

Anyway, the avocado wasn’t the main ingredient in this dish. For me I really liked the fish. I wasn’t sure to be honest with you. I’ve had fish tacos before but never made them myself. I credit my new found hobby of Friday night hotpot and sushi for my go-getter attitude with this dish. The recipe calls for mahi mahi but we couldn’t find it frozen at TJ’s so I got wild caught Alaskan cod instead. I really couldn’t have been happier with the ease of cooking this fish. I kept thinking of my sister who cannot touch raw meat, let alone fish, these chunks certainly were not pretty but because they were small they cooked fast and when I flipped them they were flaky which gave it a nice consistency to work with when assembling the taco – think pulled pork.

The flavors of these cuties was spot on, definitely a little heavy on the lime but well balanced by the cumin and cilantro. I had so much fun assembling these guys too, so pretty. The bright purple cabbage gave it some crunch and the crema gave it a little heat with the fire roasted red pepper.

Oh yeah, I did substitute a few things from the recipe-

Cod for mahi mahi

Cabbage and carrot slaw mix  for the red cabbage

Fire roasted canned red peppers instead of chipotle pepper

My only critique would be on the crema. I wish it was thicker. I used European Greek yogurt and went a tad bit heavy on the lime juice but the bottle of lime juice was almost done so I said “what the heck” and killed it.

It wasn’t bad, it was just watery.

Overall I thought these were great and I feel adventurous for attempting “gourmet” tacos at home.

Hey, who says tacos are only for Tuesdays…😉

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

