Adventure#17: Brown Sugar Pineapple Chicken

04-06-17Recipe:

http://www.carlsbadcravings.com/brown-sugar-pineapple-chicken/

In retrospect, I would call this sweet and sour chicken. The flavors were delish and I used frozen pineapple which really gave this dish some pizzazz.

The sauce had everything but the kitchen sink but again the flavors were great and I realized the red flakes I usually see in sweet and sour sauce ( don’t judge but I’m picturing Wendy’s sweet and sour sauce) comes from the chili garlic sauce. I was mixing the sauce ingredients together and saw the flakes and I was like “oooooooooooh”, light bulb.

It’s cool to realize things like that- like what’s actually IN my food-and I learn so much about food as I continue to cook more and more. And it’s always better to make it yourself.

I made potatoes to go with this dish and ended up referring back to my own recipe for how to season them. I would however suggest rice if you decide to make this dish, I would even add broccoli.

Something else I learned that helped me in this dish was to warm the frozen pineapple chunks to get pineapple juice. My friend Alex (hi Alex) suggested microwaving them and that’s where I got the idea. Michael doesn’t like microwaves so I used the stove instead and as they warmed I crushed them a bit to get all the juice out and it totally worked!

I would definitely make this sauce again, even with some other protein, but next time fer sher going with rice.

Anyway, that’s all I got on the sweet and sour chicken. Stay tuned for my next big adventure: 19 30- minute healthy meals.

xoxo

B

One Comment Add yours

  1. Alex says:

    Hi! 🙂 loving all the posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

