Adventure #15: Coconut Curry Chicken…”Triple-C”


I’m back…did you miss me? I feel like it’s been a while since I’ve blogged consecutive days.

Well I’m back and with a twist- I made MY OWN recipe.

I had bought Thai green curry paste for another recipe I was meaning to make but never got around to. On the side of the jar was a recipe for chicken so I took some ideas from that but I’m still going to call it my own invention.

I’ve never done this before, I kind of wung this so here it is…

Ingredients~

* 3 cloves of garlic, minced

*2 small yellow onion

* 2 tbsp coconut oil

*2 chicken breasts ( I’m guessing 6oz each-these were huge suckers from TJ’s)

* 3 tbsp Thai green curry paste

*1 14 oz can reduced fat coconut milk

* 1 can baby corn ( I hate canned vegetables but this was all hannafords had for baby corn! And we’ve had these for a bit)

*3\4 bag frozen brocolli

*1 bag frozen asparagus

*1\2 bag frozen, shelled edamame 

*1.5 cups jasmine rice, uncooked

*another  14 oz can reduced fat coconut milk

*dash of salt

*1\2 cup H2O

*3 shakes curry powder

*salt again

*pepper

Directions~

In a wok, melt the coconut oil. Add the garlic and onion and sautee until translucent.

Add the chicken and cover with the onions. Let simmer for about 15 minutes, flipping halfway through. The onions should be charred.

While you’re waiting add the rice, 1 can of coconut milk, the water and the dash of salt to a pot. Bring to boil, stir, reduce to a simmer and cover for 15-20 minutes. You should check and stir/ fluff every so often.

Remove the chicken and cut in half.

Add coconut milk and curry paste to the wok.

Simmer then add the chicken back in, cover with sauce. Let cook another 10 min.

Remove the chicken and slice thinly. Set aside.

Add the veggies to the wok. Add 3 shakes of curry powder, salt and pepper and let those bad boys marry together and the veggies bask in the amazing-ness that is this sauce.

The rice should be done by now and the liquid should have been absorbed by now and the rice nice and fluffy.

Plate the rice down first, top with the veggies( use tongs) then add the chicken on top. Ladel just the liquid over the chicken.

Grab some chop sticks ( we actually did! Impulse buy at TJ Max today- unfortunately not featured in photo) and dig in!

I love avocado but I wasn’t letting myself eat it today, so next best thing- coconut (rice). Well there you have it!

PS Alex- now you know how to make the rice 😜

Enjoy!

xoxo

B

Leave a Reply

