Adventure #14: Salmon Avocado Rice Bowls


As you know by now, I love salmon and avocado together. I’ve actually made this recipe before and it’s what turned me on to the combo.

Having said that I feel like I put my own little spin on it this time round. Thinking about it I’ve made it three times actually. I feel like I can say, as the bloggers do, “recipe adapted from will cook for smiles”.

http://www.willcookforsmiles.com/2017/01/avocado-salmon-rice-bowl.html
First time I made it I followed the recipe to a tee, but I didn’t have cilantro so I used basil and it still totally worked.

Second time I made it with the cilantro and it was just as good but a key flavors in this dish is lime so cilantro and lime go together like pb and j, so there was a difference.

This recipe also opened my eyes to cooking rice with liquid other than water and the amazing yet subtle difference it makes. Chicken broth was used for the rice and it gave it a savory, creamy salty magical-ness. It really balanced the sweet and acidic from the honey and lime.

So this time around I didn’t have cilantro so I decided…to go naked! I just poured the honey lime glaze over the salmon and chose to dress up the salsa a bit more to compensate. The rice was the same but no cilantro.

The salsa, let’s talk about the salsa. I love salsa, I love avocado in my salsa, I love fancy spices and sophisticated flavors in my salsa haha.

Here’s what I did…I basically made guac!! šŸ˜šŸ˜‹

Avocado, tomato, red onion, lime juice, EVOO, salt and garlic powder. That’s it!

Delicious.

This is great for leftovers. I let it sit out and get to room temp so I don’t have to heat it, the salmon is a perfect temp and the avocado stayed pretty well to be eaten the next day.

Definitely a quick, go to for a healthy meal!

šŸ˜˜

Leave a Reply

