Day 1: Dinner: Magnolian Beef with Coconut Rice

Coconut rice?! Whaaaat?!!!

Oh man was this good.

Recipe cred: 

http://www.thechunkychef.com/mongolian-beef-with-sticky-coconut-rice-and-caramelized-smoky-cauliflower/

I have been experimenting with Asian inspired meals lately and I came across this recipe. I was also wanting another type of protein that wasn’t chicken…ergo, beef!

I have had mongolion beef before, eating out at a Chinese restaurant but have never made it myself. I recently made orange chicken, so cooking with oil and corn starch to coat and fry the meat was something I had done a whole ONE TIME before.

Let’s get back to the coconut rice though… I didn’t know it was part of the recipe until I was reading through it tonight prepping all the ingredients.

So. Freaking.Good.

The sauce on the recipe was simple, just the way I like it. Garlic-my fave. And ginger! Yummm.

I was waiting for the sauce to thicken after bringing it all to a boil but it wasn’t until I added the sauce to the beef that it got the thick rich, bbq type thickness. 

The ginger and garlic married with the coconut rice so well, and then with a hint of the scallions.

This is for sure a recipe I will be making again and I cannot wait to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

=]

Leave a Reply

